Open: No

Applications are invited from university graduates of Greek or Cypriot nationality for awards to cover the expenses of a stay in the United Kingdom of short duration for a specific project of study or research in any field in which the British School is active.

This comprises all areas of Hellenic studies, including Greek and Cypriot archaeology, art, history, language, literature, religion, philosophy, ethnography, anthropology, geography and all branches of archaeological science. The project must be clearly defined. It must be a project which would be greatly enhanced from access to material in libraries, archives, museums or universities and from scholarship which is to be found in the U.K. but not in Greece or Cyprus.

Awards are not normally offered to those carrying out or intending to qualify for post-graduate study in the U.K. They are not normally awarded to those carrying out full time postgraduate study in Greece. A well-defined project may, however, justify an exception.

The School expects to offer around three awards: no award will exceed three months. Award recipients should preferably be attached for the period of their award to a British university, museum or other appropriate institution. An advisor may be appointed. On their return from the U.K. recipients will be expected to submit a written report to the British School on their work as holders or the award. Applications from previous bursary holders will not normally be considered within 5 years of the previous award.

Before applying for an award, applicants must make at least preliminary contact with the British institution(s) where they intend to work and the scholar(s) with whom they would like to study.

Applications must be written in English and sent by the deadline by e-mail to the School Administrator at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The deadline to submit applications is 19 January 2018.


Award holders

- Graikos, Ioannis (Hellenic Ministry of Culture) 16/17
- Kouloumentas, Stavros (Université Paris-Sorbonne) 16/17
- Margariti, Christina (Hellenic Ministry of Culture) 16/17
- Papastavrou, Eleni (Hellenic Ministry of Culture) 16/17
- Tzourmana, Yanna (Hellenic Open University) 16/17
- Balla, Chloe (University of Crete) 15/16
- Kontopanagou, Marilena (Hellenic Ministry of Culture) 15/16
- Kotoula, Dimitra (Hellenic Ministry of Culture) 15/16
- Schoina, Maria (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki) 15/16
- Thanassoula, Leoni 15/16
- Poulou, Tatiana (A' Ephorate of Prehistoric and Classical Antiquities) 14/15
- Katsarou, Stella (Ephorate of Palaeoanthropology and Speleology of Southern Greece) 14/15
- Iliakis, Michael 13/14
- Zanou, Constantia 13/14
- Keramidas, Stefanos 13/14
- Bourogiannis, Georgios 12/13
- Christoforaki, Ioanna 12/13
- Kontogiannis, Nicholas 12/13
- Karapanagiotou, Anna Vasiliki 12/13
- Athanasoulis, Dimitris (25th Ephorate of Byzantine Antiquities) 11/12
- Papadopoulos, Angelos (University of Athens) 11/12
- Sofou, Athanasia (University of Athens) 11/12
- Chavela, Konstantina (LST' Ephorate of Prehistoric and Classical Antiquities) 11/12
- Karla, Grammatiki (University of Athens) 11/12
- Avronidaki, Christina (National Archaeological Museum) 10/11
- Koursoumis, Socrates (LH' Ephorate of Prehistoric and Classical Antiquities) 10/11
- Katsourides, Yiannos (University of Cyprus) 10/11
- Karas, Serkan (University of Athens) 10/11