

# MEMBERSHIP OF COUNCIL, ITS COMMITTEES & SUBCOMMITTEES 1<sup>ST</sup> APRIL 2024 - 31<sup>ST</sup> MARCH 2025

By a resolution of Council on 13<sup>th</sup> October 2009, a year of membership is defined as 1<sup>st</sup> April - 31<sup>st</sup> March. Upcoming vacancies will be advertised on the front page of the School website (http://www.bsa.ac.uk) before Christmas in the preceding year, inviting nominations to be made to the relevant Committee Chair or as otherwise instructed. Appointments will be made at the February Council meeting or AGM, as appropriate.

## COUNCIL

Chair Professor Roderick Beaton (until January 2026)

Vice-Chair Professor Robin Osborne (until January 2026)

Ex officio

Chair of the Committee for Archaeology

(Dr Daniel Stewart)

Chair of the Committee for Society, Arts, and Letters

(Professor David Holton)

Honorary Treasurer and Chair of the Finance and General Purposes

Committee (Mr Patrick Reeve)

Vice-presidential Representative Prof. Malcolm Schofield (until 2026)

Members:

Dr Lyndsay Coo	(until 2028)
Dr Lesley Fitton	(until 2025)
Ms Marcella Giobbe	(until 2025)
Ms Sarah Green	(until 2026)
Prof. Violetta Hionidou	(until 2026)
Dr Colin Macdonald	(until 2025)
Dr Victoria McGuinness	(until 2027)
Dr Tulsi Parikh	(until 2026)
Mr Nicholas Service	(until 2028)
Ms Kate Smith	(until 2027)

Officers in attendance: Director; Administrative Assistant; Deputy Honorary Treasurer

## COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

### COMMITTEE FOR ARCHAEOLOGY

Chair: Dr Daniel Stewart (until 2025)

Ex officio Chair/Vice-Chair of Council; Director

Members: Prof. Andrew Bevan (until 2026)

Prof. Amy Bogaard (until 2025) Dr Jana Mokrisova (until 2028) Dr Anja Slawisch (until 2025) Dr Jane Rempel (until 2026)

## COMMITTEE FOR SOCIETY, ARTS, AND LETTERS

Chair: Professor David Holton (until 2026)

Ex officio Chair of Council; Director.

Members:

Dr Huw Halstead (until 2027)
Prof. Violetta Hionidou (until 2026)
Prof. Liz James (until 2025)
Dr Daniel Knight (until 2028)
Prof. Gonda Van Steen (until 2028)

Dr Michalis Sotiropoulos (co-opted from 1 October 2024)

In attendance: Public Engagement & Development Officer

#### **PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE**

Chair: Professor Polly Low (until 2028)

Ex officio: Chair of Council; Director

Chair of the Committee for Archaeology

(Dr Daniel Stewart)

Chair of the Committee for Society, Arts, and Letters

(Prof. David Holton)
UK Editor of the Annual
(Dr Peter Liddel)

Managing Editor of in-house publications

(Dr Olga Kryzskowska)

Members: Prof. Maria Stamatopoulou (until 2026)

Prof. Nicoletta Momigliano (until 2028)

In attendance: Nominated rep. of CUP (Dr Hannah Patrick); Deputy Honorary Treasurer

# FINANCE AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

Chair: Mr Patrick Reeve (until 2028)

Ex officio Chair of Council; Director

Chair of the Investment Subcommittee

(Mr Patrick Reeve)

Members: Prof. James Forder (until 2025)

Mr Richard Heyhoe (until 2027)
Ms Nicola Horton (until 2025)
Mr Manos Papatheofanous (until 2028)
Sir Adam Ridley (until 2025)
Ms Alexandra Sorgo (until 2025)
Ms Chryssanthi Vakla (until 2028)

In attendance: Deputy Honorary Treasurer

### **GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE**

Chair: Prof. Robin Osborne (until 2028)

Members: Prof. Catherine Morgan (until 2025)

Mr Patrick Reeve (until 2028) Prof. Graham Shipley (until 2026)

Director by invitation, Deputy Honorary Treasurer by invitation

### **DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE**

Chair: Professor Robin Osborne (until 2028)

Ex officio: Chair of Council; Director; Deputy Honorary Treasurer; Chair of Friends'

Committee

Members: Ms Mahi Georgakopoulou (until 2027)

Mrs Sarah Green (until 2025)
Prof. Amy Smith (until 2027)
Prof. Tyler Jo Smith (until 2026)
Dr Jackie Whalen (until 2027)
Mr Patrick Reeve (co-opted as chair of F&GP)

In attendance: Public Engagement & Development Officer

### **SEARCH COMMITTEE**

Chair: Dr Alexandra Villing (until 2027)

Members:

Dr Catherine Draycott (until 2026)
Dr Huw Halstead (until 2028)
Prof. Katherine Harloe (until 2028)
Ms Kate Smith (until 2027)

## FRIENDS' COMMITTEE

Chair: Dr Nigel Spencer (until 2028)

Members:

Mrs Sarah Green(until 2026)Mrs Marie-Christine Keith(until 2028)Mr Nicholas Service(until 2025)Mr Paul Smee(until 2025)

In attendance: Administrative Assistant

### **SUBCOMMITTEES**

## FITCH LABORATORY SUBCOMMITTEE

Chair Prof. Carl Heron (until 2026)

Ex officio: Director of the Fitch Laboratory

Members:

Prof. Andrew Bevan (until 2027)
Prof. Amy Bogaard (until 2025)
Prof. Glynis Jones (until 2025)
Prof. Marcos Martinón-Torres (until 2025)
Dr Ian Whitbread (until 2026)

Director by invitation

### **CRETE SUBCOMMITTEE**

Chair: Prof. Nicoletta Momigliano (until 2028)

Ex officio: Director; Knossos Curator

Members: Prof. Amy Bogaard (until 2027)

Dr Valasia Isaakidou (until 2025)
Dr Andrew Shapland (until 2025)
Dr Conor Trainor (until 2025)
Prof. Todd Whitelaw (until 2025)

### SPARTA & LACONIA SUBCOMMITTEE

Chair: Prof. William G. Cavanagh (until 2026)

Members: Mr Richard Catling (until 2027)

Dr Nicoletta Pavlides (until 2026)
Dr Alexandra Villing (until 2026)

Director by invitation

## LEFKANDI SUBCOMMITTEE

**Chair:** Professor Irene Lemos (until 2027)

Members:

Dr Yannis Galanakis (until 2025)
Dr Olga Krzyskowska (until 2026)
Dr Alexandra Livarda (until 2025)
Dr Susan Sherratt (until 2026)
Dr Daniel Stewart (until 2026)
Dr Caroline Thurston (until 2027)
Dr Ian Whitbread (until 2025)

Director by invitation

#### COURSES AND TEACHING SUBCOMMITTEE

Chair: Prof. Polly Low (until 2025)

Ex officio: Director; Assistant Director

Members: Dr Matthew Haysom (until 2026)

Dr Theodora Jim (until 2025)
Dr Amy Coker (until 2025)
Ms Nina Wallace (until 2026)

#### STUDENTSHIPS SUBCOMMITTEE

Chair: Prof. Roderick Beaton (until 2026)

Ex officio: Director

Members: Prof. Amy Bogaard (until 2026)

Dr Yannis Galanakis (until 2026) Dr Joseph Skinner (until 2026)

### **INVESTMENT COMMITTEE**

Chair: Mr Patrick Reeve (until 2028)

Members: Dr Carol Bell (until 2026)

Mr Richard Heyhoe (until 2027)
Sir Adam Ridley (until 2027)
Mr Manos Papatheofanous (until 2027)
Mr Maxim Polyakov (until 2026)
Mr Henry Stanford (until 2028)
Ms Chryssanthi Vakla (until 2026)

Chair of Council, Director and Deputy Honorary Treasurer by invitation

## PERSONNEL SUBCOMMITTEE

Constituted upon request of the Finance and General Purposes Committee

## **VICE-PRESIDENTS**

HM Ambassador to the Hellenic Republic

Professor Sir John Boardman, MA, FBA, FSA

Mr Gerald Cadogan, MA, FSA

Professor Glynis Jones, BSc, MPhil, PhD, FBA

Ms Natalie Haynes

Mrs Victoria Hislop

Mr Anastasios P. Leventis, BA, MBA, CBE, OFR

Sir Michael Llewellyn-Smith, KCVO, CMG, DPhil

Professor Catherine Morgan, OBE, FBA

Professor Lord Renfrew, MA, PhD, FBA, FSA  $\dagger$ 

Sir Adam Ridley Professor Malcolm Schofield, FBA Professor Richard A.Tomlinson, MA, FSA Professor Peter Warren, MA, FBA, FSA Dr Malcolm H. Wiener, FSA Dr Charles Williams II, FSA